I’M CALLING YOU OUT

GIRD YOUR LOINS, it’s the Monday Sunday recap!

Yesterday, Father A delivered another beautiful and passionate homily. Mostly it was about marriage, though, and that’s nooooot a thing that I can really blog about. In the end, his message dealt with faith, consistency, and steadfast trust that God forgives and shows mercy, DESPITE the fact that we often cannot forgive ourselves, and EVEN THOUGH it is Christ Himself who suffers the most as a direct result of our sins.

Oh, and another guy who delivered a similar message recently was…oh, what’s his name…it’s on the tip of my tongue…

Image

(Yahoo News) (Really? Yahoo? 1997 called.)

Now I realize this is kind of a cop-out, but as you may have surmised, I’m kind of in love with this guy, so I won’t be gracing you all with my prodigious thoughts on Scriptures this week…I’ll let him do most of the talking.

Here’s some juicy stuff from his Sunday homily and Angelus, delivered at a small parish church, rather than in the BIG GIANT SCARY BASILICA ONE.

Of course, I do have SOME things to say…

People all over the world are watching the new guy’s every little motion, trying to figure out “what kind of pope” he’s going to be.

Looking back on last week, and thinking about what I’ve carried into Monday with me, I’m not as concerned about what “kind” of pope he is. We can tell from his actions that the WHOLE WORLD, Catholic or not, is inspired by his devotion to the poor, his humility, and his normal-human-ness. We can tell by his words that he is less eager to hear himself speak than, say…I am.

Case in point: Please read this translation of his very first Homily as Pope.

And some very cool commentary on that message can be found here and here.

How wonderful that this servant is our leader and our representative. As much as I adored Blessed John Paul II and Pope Benedict XVI, this is the first time I’ve felt inspired to action and prayer by a pope. It’s like I don’t want to let him down.

And yet, he’ll be the first to tell you that he is not the inspiring one.

THAT. That is it. It is Jesus who makes you important. It is Jesus who works through Pope Francis, and Jesus who works through us.

Let’s not let Him down.

It’s been on my mind lately that we need to get some service projects up in this St. Martha Youth situation. If you have ideas, please tweet, email, facebook, or leave a comment.

I’M CALLING YOU OUT, TEENAGERS AND YOUNG ADULTS. LET’S MAKE SOME AWESOME HAPPEN.

Leave a comment

March 19, 2013 · 9:35 am

Leave a Reply

